CUTS

Cuts is a series of whole leather skins having been cut up. These artworks constitute an attempt at finding a reduced imagery with regard to the question of the relationship between nature and culture.

Culture is in its essence always inextricably linked with an encroachment upon nature. The Latin word cultura originally means "cultivation of land", which is an outstanding metaphor for human life as being hardly conceivable without the molding quality of its interference with nature.

And yet, this does not only raise the question of the type or the necessity of this encroachment, but also to what extent it causes exploitation, oppression and destruction of nature, and thereby the destruction of culture as well.

Is this paradox real? Does culture hold, in its innermost essence, the seed of its own downfall?

77 Cuts, 2018, leather, 247 x 194 cm
77 Cuts, 2018, leather, 247 x 194 cm

Photo: Vivi D'Angelo

f o l l o w

CUTS

Cuts ist eine Serie von ganzen Lederhäuten, die mit Schnitten versehen wurden. Diese Arbeiten stellen einen Versuch dar, eine reduzierte Bildsprache für die Frage nach dem Verhältnis von Natur und Kultur zu finden.

Kultur ist ihrem Wesen nach immer mit einem Eingriff in die Natur verbunden. Das lateinische Wort cultura bezeichnet ursprünglich den Ackerbau, der eine hervorragende Metapher dafür ist, dass das Leben des Menschen ohne seinen gestaltenden Eingriff in die Natur kaum denkbar ist.

Dabei stellt sich aber nicht nur die Frage nach der Art oder der Notwendigkeit dieses Eingreifens, sondern auch inwiefern es Ausbeutung, Unterdrückung sowie Zerstörung der Natur verursacht, und damit auch Zerstörung der Kultur. 

Ist dieses Paradoxon real? Trägt Kultur in ihrem innersten Wesen den Keim ihres eigenen Untergangs in sich?    

77 Cuts, 2018, Leder, 247 x 194 cm
77 Cuts, 2018, Leder, 247 x 194 cm

f o l l o w